Wednesday Parent Hack


When Griffin was born, I decided I wanted to do something to with all of the photos and videos I was taking.  At the time I was wary of posting too much to Facebook, and a baby book seemed like an impossible task.

I decided to create a private blog on a site called Posterous, which at the time was awesome and was one of the only free sites that let you post videos and photos within a blog for free. 

A couple of years in, they were acquired by Twitter who shut down the service, and I found myself frantically trying to find a new home for these files. 

I decided not to risk it again and go with a site that didn’t seem to be going anywhere anytime soon, WordPress.  I’m so glad I did.  I know there are a ton of great apps out there trying to solve this problem for parents. But at the end of the day, I love the simplicity of being able to pop open the WordPress app while lying in bed with the boys and privately document the little magical moments happening in their lives. I am grateful I learned the Posterous lesson before I had a decade of files, and I’m crossing my fingers in the hopes that WordPress makes it long enough for my boys to enjoy well into adulthood. 

 

Leave a Reply

